HGSD Act – Sec.8801.051.	Appointing Entity (Official)	Board Member (Representing)	First Appointed	Expiration of Term
(b) The mayor of the municipality with the largest population of any municipality in the district shall appoint six directors from that municipality. One of those directors must be a representative of industry.	Houston (Mayor)	Susan L. Baird, PG (Pos. 6) Chris Canonico, PE (Pos. 5, industry) Katherine M. Mears, PE (Pos. 1) Shaun Theriot-Smith, PE (Pos.3) Rosa Alvarez, PE (Pos. 4) Emily Anderson, PE (Pos. 2)	11/98 09/12 05/18 04/17 03/21 03/21	2025 2026 2025 2026 2025 2025 2026
(c) The mayor of the municipality with the second largest population of any municipality in the district shall appoint one director from that municipality.	Pasadena (Mayor)	Sarah Benavides, PE	02/19	2025
(d) The mayors of all municipalities in Galveston County shall jointly appoint two directors from those municipalities.	Clear Lake Shores (Mayor) Dickinson (Mayor) Friendswood (Mayor) Galveston (Mayor) Hitchcock (Mayor) Jamaica Beach (Mayor) Kemah (Mayor) La Marque (Mayor) League City (Mayor) Santa Fe (Mayor) Texas City (Mayor) Bayou Vista (Mayor) Tiki Island (Mayor)	Shannon Lucas Don Johnson	02/18 02/21	2026 2027
(e) The mayor of Baytown shall appoint one director from the municipality of Baytown.	Baytown (Mayor)	Pete Côté	08/13	2019
(f) The Commissioners Court of Harris County	Harris County (Commissioners Court)	Lindall Murff (agriculture)	02/11	2022
shall appoint three directors who are not residents of the municipality that has the largest population		Augustus Campbell (municipal utility district)	03/21	2023
of any municipality in the district. One of those directors must be a representative of agriculture, one must be a representative of industry, and one must be a representative of municipal utility districts and a resident of a municipal utility district in the district.		Brian Freedman (industry)	06/24	2025
(g) The Commissioners Court of Galveston	Galveston County (Commissioners Court)	Jason Long	04/22	2026
County shall appoint three directors. One of those directors must be a representative of municipal utility districts and a resident of a municipal utility district in the district.		Craig Lovell William Alcorn (municipal utility district)	04/22 03/24	2025 2026
(h) The president of the Clear Lake City Water Authority and the mayors of the municipalities of Deer Park, Galena Park, La Porte, Nassau Bay,	Deer Park (Mayor) Galena Park (Mayor) La Porte (Mayor)	Steve Gillett	09/21	2025

and Seabrook shall jointly appoint one director from Harris County.	Nassau Bay (Mayor) Seabrook (Mayor) Clear Lake City Water Authority (President)			
(i) The mayors of the municipalities of West University Place, Southside Place, Bellaire, and Jacinto City shall jointly appoint one director from Harris County.	West University Place (Mayor) Southside Place (Mayor) Bellaire (Mayor) Jacinto City (Mayor)	Alan P. Petrov	02/03	2026
(j) The mayors of the municipalities of Humble, Piney Point Village, Hedwig Village, Bunker Hill Village, Hunters Creek Village, Hilshire Village, and Spring Valley shall jointly appoint one director from Harris County.	Humble (Mayor) Piney Point Village (Mayor) Hedwig Village (Mayor) Bunker Hill Village (Mayor) Hunters Creek Village (Mayor) Hilshire Village (Mayor) Village of Spring Valley Mayor)	Kyle Sears	03/14	2026

Sec. 8801.051. DIRECTORS. (a) The district is governed by a board composed of 19 directors appointed as provided by this section. Directors serve for two-year, staggered terms. A director must be a qualified voter of the district.

Sec. 8801.056. VACANCIES. If a vacancy occurs on the board, a person representing the same area as the vacating director shall be appointed as provided by Section 8801.051 to serve the unexpired term.